Ambient Places

I’ve blogged in the past about how I regularly work from places that I call ‘Ambient Places’.  I call them ‘ambient’ to distinguish them from just coffee shops alone.  I’m aware that a lot of people nowadays work from coffee shops, but when you actually do it for a living, you quickly realize that you need more than just coffee to make it a success.  It’s for that reason that I chose the word ‘ambience’ because it implies a whole lot more than just coffee alone.

Here’s some things that I enjoy about a few of my favorite Ambient Places:

Terrific views of the beach in summer:

 

Comfort, good coffee, and good music:

 

Power:

I’ve recently purchased the AmbientPlaces.com domain name with the intention of developing a Virtual Earth based solution that allows networks of friends to add information about their own favorite ambient places and add descriptions and upload photos against them.

Using such an application it would be possible for me to send a link to friend who might be visiting Adelaide so that they could see which places I use to work from.  They could then filter this list based on things such as:

  • Which locations have power
  • Which locations are good for taking clients to
  • Which locations have the best amenities
  • etc

In looking at the above photos, you will see how important having such a site can be in providing a first class experience for finding these places.  For example, in the Adelaide coffee shop where I took that last photo there is only 1 power point and it’s way up at the back of the shop.  And even having that knowledge is probably not enough to find it as you can only get to it by sliding one of the seats out from the wall!

The site that I’ve been developing already supports creating sites, adding/removing them to your favorites, uploading photos, adding comments, and sending links of favorites to friends.  For a phase 1 I’m pretty happy that I’m close.

However things are getting busy in other parts of my life with study, sport, business, and family commitments and so now I’m looking for a partner to help me get this site up and running.

If you are interested in playing with LINQ, SQL Server 2008, ASP.NET Ajax, Sliverlight, and Virtual Earth as well as being passionate about building a great Web 2.0 resource then please get in touch with me.  However I should warn that unless you have a lot of energy and time to throw at a project such as then this probably isn’t for you.

Anyways, if this is for you or you have a friend who would likely be interested, then please get in touch and let’s make it happen!

~ by D on November 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
