Windows Live One Care – and why I could no longer connect to our VPN

I’ve been using OneCare on and off for a while.  With every new drop, I’ve been diligently installing it to see how it is coming along.  I must say that, up until the latest release, I’ve been a bit concerned.  I can’t put my finger on it exactly but I always felt that the software was trying to be smarter than it really was, and because of that, it was always failing to live up to my expectations.

The latest release however has me feeling pretty good about the product and I’d certainly recommend that you install it and give it a try. I installed it a week or so ago and have been suitable impressed – I’m a big fan of the backup feature in particular! 

WLOC

However, there’s one thing that you need to know – and I’m sure that you are not as dopey as I am so you probably already had this figured out. 

Recently I noticed that I could no longer connect to the VPN at work from my Tablet PC (yes, the very same machine that I installed One Care on ;)).  It took me a while to figure it out but I finally managed to associate my lack of a connection with my recent gain of One Care.

Thankfully, fixing the problem was a cinch.  On the left side of the One Care app there’s a verb that allows you to ‘Change OneCare settings’.  If you click on that, a tabbed window appears which has a tab for managing Firewall settings:

WLOC1 

From there, if you click the Firewall connection tool button, you get to another screen that enables you to enable VPN access again:

WLOC2

Too easy!

~ by D on November 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
