Goals for 2008

Well, last night we drank and danced 2007 away and so I’m now turning my mind to what 2008 looks like – and I think that it’s going to be a busy year.

Work

In many ways, I think that 2008 will be a year of consolidation at work.  2006 and 2007 were both huge years – both for me as I entered the senior management team and for Readify because we made the BRW’s list of Fastest 100 Growing Businesses 2 years in a row!  During this time my main role has been tied to staff growth (both numbers and PD) and to start the Dev Centre.  For 2008 I would like to take the foundations that we’ve laid with the Dev Centre where I believe type of agile practice that we are running is pretty good for what we deal with, I’m hoping that we can improve the processes and systems to produce better software faster.  Some of this will be code focused, but I suspect that a lot will be related to more fundamental things such as how we capture requirements and quickly produce early prototypes – as well as the quality of our systems documentation.  So, all-in-all, as with improving any game, you simply identify each of the pieces and work on each one to get an overall gain.

 

Study

I haven’t studied formally for over 10 years now but this year I will start the first of three year’s study for an MBA at Adelaide University.  Part of my desire to do this is to learn a lot more about the organizational side of businesses while another part is to meet new, ambitious people around Adelaide and make some new contacts in the business world.

 

Blogging

The theme of my blog has been very technology focused in the last 6 months as I’ve thrown myself into learning the ins-and-outs of ASP.NET Ajax.  From a technology side of things, I can see myself blogging quite a bit about Silverlight and MVC as they will be the 2 major technologies that I’ll try to master in the first half of this year.  I’m hoping to blog a lot more about some of the stuff that I’ve learned over the past few years too.  Things such as:

  • Building a healthy professional development program – something I started a year ago but will be moving into a second phase this year.
  • More about remote/mobile working – with a major focus on 2 things.  1: how to get the most enjoyment from the benefits of remote/mobile working.  2: Managing a remote development process.
  • How to induct new people into your business – with a focus on remote/mobile workforce’s.

 

Sport

Late in 2006 I identified a long term goal of mine, which is to coach field hockey at a high level.  Last year I started down this path by coaching an under 17 men’s hockey team into the grand final and being assistant coach of our 2nd highest men’s hockey team (Div 2’s) .  This year I will sit for a coaches accreditation and I’m taking over the full time coaching role for the Div 2 men.  The 5 year plan is to have coached hockey at Div 1 level and to possibly get involved with the management of a junior State Hockey team.

 

Life

About 7 years ago my wife and I started seeing a Financial Advisor who enacted a 5 year wealth creation plan for us.  While we are not highly affluent today, we have hit all of our financial targets.  This year will be a final year of building the base before we launch into a few more advanced financial scenarios next year.  In terms of travel, I haven’t really thought about my PD trip yet.  For the past few years I’ve gone to Seattle with the MVP conference but I’m not sure about that this year.  I’d like to have a business trip that will lead me to meeting the next group of people in my professional career – hopefully something to do with product development again.  As for a family holiday, I’m thinking that a 2 week trip to Perth at some stage will be on the cards.

~ by D on January 1, 2008.

One Response to “Goals for 2008”

  1. Congratulations Darren.  You\’re obviously a hell of a guy.  My goals and yours are going more-or-less in the same direction, as I would like to do the same at one of Readify\’s customers (you are right, it\’s a long game not a quick fix).  We too have targeted the BRW fast 100.  I already have an MBA, but am just starting in on a return to the codeface (in my own time), after a long divergence into PMing and then SDMing.  So, an MVP I am not.  But dedicated enough to learn from the best.  Regards, Michael.

Leave a Reply

 
