Windows Live Features we’d like to see

Recently I’ve been talking about some of the cool uses for Live Spaces but, in this post, I’d like to talk about a pet peeve of mine – the lack of work that is put into development and communication from the Live Spaces team about upcoming features

I’d like to use this article/post as a place where I can keep a list of the things that the community believe we need to improve Live Spaces.  If you have any items on your wish list please add them as comments and I’ll add them into the table.  Then hopefully we can send them off to the team and lobby for a response of some kind from the Spaces team.

 

Submitted By

Feature

Description
Darren Neimke

Modules

Include the ability to have JavaScript in modules.  I’d like to use Google Analytics on my Space to get proper statistics.  But because Spaces strips out any JavaScript, I am currently unable to do this.

Darren Neimke

Statistics

Include some richer statistics out of the box.  Currently all that is offered is the ability to view a giant, paged list of ‘page views’.  Benefits could be gained by adding some simple extra views such as:

  • Most common search terms from referrers (such as Google search terms used to land at your site)
  • Most popular pages
  • Daily, Weekly, Monthly traffic charts
Darren Neimke

Comments

Improved ease in managing spam comments.  I made some suggestions about how to do this at the end of this post.

Darren Neimke

Comments

A bulk, paged view of comments.  Currently I am only able to see the most recent 7 or 8 comments on my Spaces home page.  But what if I wanted to find comments older than that?

Jamie Thomson Publishing

I just tried to post a blog entry contianing pictures from WL Writer to my Live Space and received an error: "The server reported an error with the following URL:

The remote server returned an error: (507) Insufficient Storage."

I *presume* that this is because earlier today I hit the 500 photos per month limit on Live Spaces. I have no problem with that but I would assume that it wouldn’t prevent me from posting new blog entries. That’s bad.

I’d appreciate it if you could contact me about this and tell me if my suspicions are correct but I suspect you won’t.

Jamie Thomson Blog Blog posts can only appear in one category and that’s not particularly useful. Better would be the ability to tag blog entries with zero, one or many tags. Just like nearly every other blog engine on the planet enables you to do
Jamie Thomson Notifications Please tell me (via my Live Spaces newsfeed) when one of my friends has commented on someone else’s Spaces blog. I would love to know what my friends are up to and, moreover, I would love for people I don’t know to be made aware of my blog.
Jamie Thomson Notifications

If I post a comment on someone else’s spaces blog I have no way of knowing if someone replies to it or not. I know there’s an RSS feed for blog comments but I’m not going to go and subscribe to every single blog entry I ever put a comment onto. Given that all comments are posted using our Live ID it shouldn’t be that difficult to receive an email and/or live alert telling us that someone has replied to my comment.
Of course, we should have the ability to subscribe/unsubscribe to/from these notifications.

Jamie Thomson Notifications

When I post a comment on someone’s space there’s no way of knowing if someone replies to it. perhaps they ask a question requesting a follow-up – and I’ll never know.

here’s an idea. Why not put something on our "What’s New" feed telling us when someone has replied to one of our posts?

Jamie Thomson Notifications

The news feed tells us when soeone has posted a blog entry – and that is useful. However, in order to read it you have to leave the page.

Live.com allows you to hover over a link and it pops up a window showing what’s in the post. It’d be handy if the same was in the Spaces feed.

Jamie Thomson Calendar

If someone shares a calendar publicly it would be great if on the HTMl link to that calendar (e.g. http://jamie.calendar.live.com/calendar/SQL+Server+MVP+Summit+2008/index.html) there would be the following information:

-Name of the person who created the calendar
-Link to their Live Space
-Use Messenger IM control to IM them (if they have allowed it)
-A link to "More calendars made available by this calendar author"

Of course, we would have the option to make this information available or not

Jamie Thomson Calendar

I’ve got a calendar here: http://jamie.calendar.live.com/calendar/SQL+Server+MVP+Summit+2008/index.html and there are various things I’d like to have appear as a different colour even though they are on the same calendar.

You’ll notice that each event on that calendar has some information in brackets (e.g. Event Details for Beyond Relational I – unstructured and semi-structured data (Engine) (Deep Dive)) so I’d like to treat those things in brackets as free-form attributes of the event. In other words, I’d like to create custom attributes for each event such as "Subject Area", "technical level", "Presenter". Thereafter, it would be good to be able to create seperate colours based on values of those attributes.

Hope that makes sense.

Jamie Thomson Calendar

I can distribute a URL that links to my calendar (e,g. http://jamie.calendar.live.com/calendar/SQL+Server+MVP+Summit+2008/index.html ) and that’s very useful.

However, that particular calendar only has events on 3 days (April 15th-17th) so it’d be nice of I could post a RESTful URl that links directly to those days. (e.g. http://jamie.calendar.live.com/calendar/SQL+Server+MVP+Summit+2008/index.html?start=20080415&days=3 )

Jamie Thomson Notifications If I change the tagline on my space, display that on my friends’ What’s New feed
Jamie Thomson Notifications We don’t get a notification when someone accepts a friend request. Please could you add this to the What’s New feed?
Jamie Thomson Modules Please provide a Spaces Gadget or Sidebar gadget that allows us too browse skydrive.
Jamie Thomson Blog

Please add ‘Search this blog’ onto the title bar along with ‘Spaces’ and ‘Web’. I’m always searching for blog entries that I know exist and this addition would make it SO much easier.

In addition, automatically generate a search macro for every space. The search macro would be owned by the space owner.

Darren Neimke 

Favorites

Add the ability to add a description of the link.

Darren Neimke  Favorites Sort tags and folders alphabetically
Jamie Thomson Live Home It’d be nice to be able to delete an email from home.live.com without having to click on the mail and go through to Hotmail.
~ by D on June 14, 2008.

16 Responses to “Windows Live Features we’d like to see”

  1. great stuff Darren.
    Every idea I\’ve ever submitted to http://feedback.live.com is here:
    My submissions to http://feedback.live.com
    My submissions to http://feedback.live.com (2)
    My submissions to http://feedback.live.com (3)
     
    Feel free to add any/all of them to the list!
     
    -jamie
     
     
     

  2. Great post, guys.  Darren, thanks for pulling it all together into one table.  I told this to Darren in a private message but will also post a comment here to let you know I\’ve sent this over to the team working on our future releases.  It\’s great input into their planning process.
     

  3. Thanks Marcus… very much appreciated!

  4. Another thing that I would like to see in Live Calendar is the ability to search for events in my calendars.

  5. Great ideas. I\’d love to see these features in action too, especially the ones for Live Spaces. Since Live Spaces is more about blogging than anything, the team could do a bit better on the blogging side like these suggestions you posted. And your spam article was awesome!

  6. Cheap wOW Gold , buy wOw Gold We supply cheap wOW Gold, to reliable customers. welcome to Wow gold, buy WOW GOld sell.

  7. Nice Article On Social Networking ! Thank you for keeping up the good work. I look forward to returning to your Social Network space, and learning more about Business Social Networking from you !            Uoha Is Coming Soon!                                                                                                         .

  8. Amberdigital Branch,Southern Stars Enterprises Co is specializing in the development and manufacturing of mp4 advertisement players, SD card players and advertisement LCD displays. Established in 1996, we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.

    amberdigital Contact Us
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Hong Kong Office)
    Add:3 Fl, No.2, Lane 2, Kam Tsin Tsuen, Sheung Shui, Hong Kong
    Tel:+852 2681 4099
    Fax:+852 2681 4586
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Shenzhen Office)
    Add:DE, 16/F, Building 2, Nanguo Tower, Sungang Road, Shenzhen, China
    Tel:+86 755 2592 9100
    Fax:+86 755 2592 7171
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:http://amberdigital.en.alibaba.com%5Baagchifbaif

  9. Be wow gold cheapest wow power leveling under the best single-site!

  10. Hi,Do you need advertising displays, advertisement screens, LCD digital signage and LCD signages? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[cdajcdihfcjhga]

  11. Hi,Do you have second hand lcds, used laptop lcds and used LCD displays? Please go here:www.sstar-hk.com(Southern Stars).We are constantly buying re-usable LCD panels.We recycled LCDs.The re-usable panels go through strictly designed process of categorizing, checking, testing, repairing and refurbishing before they are re-used to make remanufactured LCD displays and TV sets.Due to our recent breakthrough in testing and repairing technology of LCD, we can improve the value for your LCD panels.
    website:www.sstar-hk.com[dejahhabifcicjh]

  12. 您需要二手液晶显示屏、废旧液晶屏么?我们是不折不扣的二手液晶屏、旧液晶屏大批发商,长期大量供应可再利用的旧液晶屏。我公司提供的各种尺寸的二手液晶屏, 不同厚薄如笔记本屏,均已经过我们严格的分类,检验,测试流程。请访问协力液晶屏www.sceondhandlcd.com[bfhjjdiiiehhdca]

Leave a Reply

 
